JOHN 3:16

November 7, 2007

My pal Terrance and I took a stroll around the lot to clear our heads, and stopped to provide moral support to the WGA picket. Also, we wanted to enjoy the drummer. It was pretty funky.

It was then that we noticed how oddly subdued the picket line was. And ONLY THEN did we see

THE GLORY

OF THE GUY

With the nine-foot tall

JESUS SAVES SINNERS FROM HELL banner

!!!!

It was really awkward. He’d walk to one side of the line. The writers would sort of go “…” and move away, he’d start shouting

THE PHAROAHS OF EGYPT MUMBLE MUMBLE! SIN! LET MY PEOPLE GO!

To deal with the discomfort, Terrance and I concocted appropriate dialog.

WRITER A
So, did you read American Gangster yet?

WRITER B
I haven’t, I’ve been catching up on last season of The Wire

CO-OPTING YOUR PICKET FOR JESUS GUY
Hi there. Have you read a little book I like to call THE GREATEST STORY EVER TOLD?

WRITER A

CO-OPTING YOUR PICKET FOR JESUS GUY
Sure, you’ve got your thrillers, your Adam Sandler comedies… but can you match the drama of GOD BECOMING FLESH AND DWELLING AMONGST US?

WRITER B
…I… left my sign over there—

WRITER A
Hey, yeah! I like your “write/right” play on words.

WRITER B
Thanks—

CO-OPTING YOUR PICKET FOR JESUS GUY
Can I give you my witness?

I’m sorry for my uncomfortable giggling, WGA strikers! I support your cause whole-heartedly. It’s just. NINE FOOT TALL BANNER ABOUT HELL.

I will bring you foodstuffs tomorrow to buy off my guilt.

2 Responses to “JOHN 3:16”

  1. Josh Says:

    Strike for Jesus!

    (Jesus would totally strike…)

  2. Elana Says:

    Did you go to Fox? Did you see the person with the “JESUS WAS A WRITER” sign?


Leave a Reply

