The latest thing for hip single people in LA.

February 16, 2008

Because I am extremely cool, I spent my Saturday night babysitting my next-door-neighbor, Pete. (Pete is 6 years old, this isn’t some kind of CREEPY thing.)

He is excellent. He gets very excited about having a babysitter come over, because a babysitter hasn’t seen all of his cool moves, and can be counted on to be impressed by many of them.

This is how most of your interactions with Pete go:

PETE
Do you want me to do a super cool jump onto the couch?

ELANA
I absolutely do.

PETE
(does super cool jump)
So what did you think?

ELANA
That was amazing.

PETE
Do you want me to do it again… while holding this stuffed animal?

ELANA
Do I ever!

Etcetera.

Later in the evening, Pete showed me his dancing. All of his dancing involved him waving his hands around while staying in the same place.

ELANA
Wow! Did you learn that in dance class?

PETE
Oh, yeah.

ELANA
What do you call that move?

PETE
Well, this one is “The Rainbow”. And this one is “The Jerk”.

ELANA
Gosh! So what style of dance is this, exactly?

PETE
(giving scornful look)
Um, it’s AXIAL DANCING.

ELANA
…Axial dancing.

PETE
Yes.

ELANA
What– what exactly is that?

PETE
See how my feet stay in the same place?
(meaningful look)
Axial dancing. RAINBOW! THE JERK!

ELANA
(muffled laughter)

PETE
Want to see me do The Robot?

Good times.

Leave a Reply

