With a tiny eye patch and a tiny parrot.

June 17, 2008

I had a meeting this morning at Aroma Cafe, which has this enormous rabbit-warren of a patio. Aside from the fact that I person I met with was super-nice, the best things that happened were:

1) There was this crazy squirrel who hung out on the fence, inches away from peoples’ tables. All “Hey…. ladies. Ladies, over here. WHAT IS UP, GIRLS? You gonna finish that sandwich?” And he only had three legs! He was like a pirate squirrel, back from the wars.

2) This lady at the table behind us accidentally almost pushed over the parasol onto our table, and then said “Oh my gosh, I’m so sorry! Did I get you in the eye?” She didn’t get anyone in the eye, but THEN she said: “My eyeball! My valuable eyeball! I need it for seeing!”

Which, because I’m chronically lame, is one of my all-time favorite joke structures. I had to take some calming breaths to stop giggling to myself.

Further, I just today found out about SOUTH AMERICAN BUSH DOGS. They’re small wild canids that live in Central and South America. Also, they’re endangered. Also, they look like OTTER DOGS:

They have webbed feet! Nobody tell Paris Hilton about these dudes or she’ll want one to cart around with her.

4 Responses to “With a tiny eye patch and a tiny parrot.”

  1. Betsy Says:

    aaaaah so weirdishly cute! i would love it if they also swam w/their bellies in the air.

  2. Elana Says:

    MAN! That would pretty much make my year, if they did that.

  3. Naomi Says:

    Hey, they look like Buddy’s distant relatives. Well, I guess ALL dogs look like Buddy’s distant relatives, but you know what I mean.

  4. Elana Says:

    They do look like Buddy! Let’s take him down Mexico way and drop him in the bush and see if he blends.


Leave a Reply

