“Don’t worry, it’s on rollers”

July 29, 2008

There was just a 5.8 earthquake here in LA. I am on the fourth floor of a building, and it was doing that ROLLING thing that makes you feel all upset in the pit of your stomach.

As I listened to people freak out, I found myself thinking:

IF I HAVE TO DIE, DON’T LET IT BE ON THE FOURTH FLOOR OF THIS STUDIO OFFICE BUILDING! ESPECIALLY NOT WITH THESE PEOPLE!

And then right after people were milling around, PLANLESS, trying to figure out what to do. Which… I would say that I am generally a pretty nice person, but there are a few things that turn me (in my head) into a raging cranky bitch, and one of them is PLANLESS MILLING. Someone needs to take control! Not me, because I just got here. I don’t even know you people. But SOMEONE SHOULD HAVE A PLAN.

Another thing that makes me grouchy is how after an earthquake you have to listen to a hundred people from New York talk about how awful it was and how they’re on the first flight back to Manhattan, IT WAS SO TRAUMATIC, YOU DON’T UNDERSTAND.

Then, just as I was getting really cranky (in my head) someone on one of my tracking groups was all “Question. How do we parlay this into a half day?”

Which made me feel like trauma happily brings out the hilarity in the kind of people who are devious and excellent.

Leave a Reply

