Bon Iver and the case of the ironic facial hair

September 7, 2008

You know that band/guy, Bon Iver? A big part of me HATES that I love his album, because, REALLY, YOU SPENT FOUR MONTHS IN A CABIN IN WISCONSIN OR SOMETHING LIKE THAT AND CAME OUT WITH A UNIVERSALLY ACCLAIMED ALBUM?

(But I do love the album and understand why it’s universally acclaimed. Sigh.)

What I want to draw your attention to is the comments on this ONION A/V CLUB review of that same album. Start at the top, where someone says that she’ll have to check the album out, and is met with withering nerd sarcasm that begins with mocking her for not having heard of Bon Iver yet, and ends with someone commenting that HE only listens to bands that HAVEN’T EVEN FORMED YET.

Further down, there’s the glorious exchange that basically goes like this:

“I like his beard.”

“Oh yeah? I like your beard. Unless it’s ironic. I hate ironic facial hair.”

“Ugh, there’s no such thing as ironic facial hair. If you have a mustache, YOU HAVE A MUSTACHE.”

“I’m currently working on a variant of muttonchops that say “I’m an intense, raging asshole, but also fun.””

Leave a Reply

