VIOLENCE.

November 24, 2008

EVERYONE. I HAVE AN ANNOUNCEMENT.

QUANTUM OF SOLACE IS THE GREATEST MOVIE IN THE WORLD.

I have no real idea what the story was about, but it DID NOT MATTER, because it was awesomely violent in the way that makes me giggle nervously. It was a series of action sequences interspersed with James Bond looking very stylish in suits. I loved it. If it had gone on for two more hours, I would have been happy. I could see it again RIGHT NOW.

Seriously, it was SO VIOLENT! I… feel guilty that I like movie violence so much. I was raised by pacifist hippies, so I don’t know what happened to make me so bloodthirsty. Every time James Bond killed someone, I was like “!!!! EXCELLENT.”

My friend and I kept sighing happily afterward and going “MAN. That was VIOLENT!”

I felt like I was on some kind of violence-related endorphin high, honestly.

TERRIBLE.

Then we went to see Twilight. (Yes, I DID see two movies in one day. SO?!? I wanted to add my LADYMOVIES ARE TOTALLY COOL money to the opening weekend total. Which is like 70 million dollars. TELL ME IT’S A FLUKE ON MONDAY PEOPLE, I dare you.)

I did not necessarily get large chunks of Twilight because I am not a teenage girl, and I find romantic teenagers more irksome than swoony, BUT, I am really happy that it found an audience and I congratulate Summit on its foresight and wisdom vis-a-vis young ladies having JUST AS MUCH MONEY AND OBSESSIVENESS as their male counterparts.

But mostly: JAMES BOND! He is totally fantastic.

Leave a Reply

