Curbside intervention

April 6, 2009

I forgot to mention! Last night I was taking a walk and there was a little knot of young people walking behind me, having what turned out to be basically a mobile intervention.

Three young men were trying to convince a young woman to seek help for her apparently heavy drinking. It involved a lot of oddly-charming exchanges like this:

YOUNG WOMAN
I am not an alcoholic!

YOUNG MEN
(mumbling)

YOUNG WOMAN
An alcoholic drinks EVERY DAY. I drink ON OCCASION.

YOUNG MEN
(mumbling)

YOUNG WOMAN
You smoke weed every day!

YOUNG MAN
That’s true, I do smoke weed every day.

OTHER YOUNG MAN
It’s true, you do.

YOUNG WOMAN
That is what I am SAYING.

YOUNG MEN
(mumbling in a kind of “Touche” way.)

Leave a Reply

