Mildly fabulous in 2010

August 10, 2010

I have been holding off on saying anything, because, WHAT IF THEY TAKE IT AWAY, but I’ve actually been doing it for a week or so and they moved furniture into my office and gave me a printer, so I now feel semi-secure in saying:

I got a job – I am a writer-in-residence at Studio X. AKA a professional screenwriter.

AKA I CAN AFFORD TO BUY A COUCH INSTEAD OF FINDING ONE IN AN ALLEY SOMEWHERE!!!!

!!!! YOU GUYS, DREAM JOB+NON-ALLEY FURNITURE!

I am pretty excited. I basically feel like I won the lottery. (Which I kind of did, frankly. I will not rain on this post’s parade by being all WAAAAHHHH IT IS HARD OUT THERE FOR A BABY WRITER, but… you know.)

It turns out that this glorious turn of events doesn’t change anything (well, the non-money parts) about being a writer. I was trying to roughly outline something just now and I kept going

OH GOD

I DON’T KNOW HOW TO DO THIS

HAVE I EVER EVEN SEEN A MOVIE??????

And I was talking to writers here who are QUITE fabulous, like GENUINELY so, and even they were all “Oh man, every time I go to write something I forget how to TYPE.” – so I guess it never gets better, you just get nicer couches to sit on while you’re panicking.

(Which, don’t get me wrong, is no small improvement if you’ve been sitting on a really uncomfortable futon… for instance.)

So anyway! There’s my good news.

Also, check this out: CARROT BACON.

2 Responses to “Mildly fabulous in 2010”

  1. Maggie Says:

    Actually completely fabulous in every way! From the couches on up! Congratulations, Elana–couldn’t happen to a better person. YAY!

  2. Nicole R. Says:

    Congratulations! Lucky for you, your blog has the beginnings of a plot arc: writer needs job, writer gets job … stay tuned to find out what happens next!


Leave a Reply

